August 12th Distribution

 

We had another great week at our distribution!  We initially thought rain might be a possibility so we set up on the front porch again this week — luckily the rain decided not to fall.  

This week we received: Kale, Collards, Escarole, Garlic, Green Pepper, Russet Potatoes, Basil and Carrots.

The amount of greens have received, even as we are deep into summer surprises me!  I always thought that greens were a cool weather food, but I am very happy to see these continue to come week after week.  With all the greens, I decided to make Beans and Greens soup with the Escarole, Kale, Garlic, Potatoes, and Onions (from past weeks), and white beans.  I loved using so many fresh ingredients in my soup.  The potatoes were a noticeably different and fresher texture than what I normally receive at the grocery store, and the garlic was so juicy!

 I am also loving receiving the root vegetables that the farmer has sent down lately.  The reason I love the root veggies is because they last for so long in the fridge making my weekly delivery last far longer than just the 7 days!  See ya next Wednesday!

my best,
marie

Leave a Reply

