Garlic Scapes, Garlic Scape Pesto

From FFS Member: Maria S.

via: http://www.whatgeekseat.com/wordpress/2007/06/16/garlic-scape-pesto/

Garlic scapes are the flower/seed stalk that shoots up from the garlic bulb. I like the way they curl and from what I understand if they not cut off they will eventually straighten out and bloom. The reason they cut them off they is so the bulb can get more energy to grow bigger and better.

The farmers’ markets and the CSA shares in this area are brimming with garlic scapes.  Tonight for dinner I’ll annoint them with some olive oil and grill them just like I do asparagus. They can be chopped thick or thin and added to salads and stir-fries.

You can also make garlic scape pesto. It is super easy to make and refrigerates well for several weeks in a well sealed jar. I also plan on popping some into the freezer to top off my winter soups. I use this pesto on brushetta, pasta, eggs, foccacia, and just about anything I grill like shrimp, salmon, chicken. It’s also fabulous added to mayonnaise and smeared on a big roast beef sandwich. Now I’m hungry!!!

Garlic scape pesto

  • 1 pound garlic scapes
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • Olive oil (about 1/2 to 1 cup)
  • Pine nuts if available

Chop the garlic scapes into 3 inch lengths. Put it int he food processor and process until pureed. Add the parmesan and pine nuts and process until smooth. Slowly add the olive oil as the food processor runs and continue until all the oil is combined into the garlic. Store in an air-tight jar in the refrigerator.

3 Comments

  1. I had never used garlic scape before but now love it! I finely chopped it and used it along with some italian seasoning, salt, pepper and olive oil, tossed with potatoes and vegetables and roasted at 400 for about 30 min. Gives it a really good light garlic flavor.

  2. I have also fallen in love with garlic scapes, but found this pesto recipe to be too pungent and garlicy (and I’m someone who adores garlic). I roasted my scapes a little to soften the flavor, added a bunch of basil for sweetness and a squirt of lemon juice to brighten it up. It was awesome.

Leave a Reply

